Contacts and Resources
For more information on this program, please contact Evan Knight, Preservation Specialist (evan.knight1@state.ma.us) at the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.
Select Bibliography
Albrecht, Steve. Library Security: Better Communication, Safer Facilities. Chicago: American Library Association, 2015.
Alire, Camila, ed. Library Disaster Planning and Recovery Handbook. NY: Neal-Schuman Publishers, Inc., 2000.
Buchanan, Sally A. “Preservation Management: Emergency Preparedness,” in Preservation: Issues and Planning, ed. Paul N. Banks and Roberta Pilette. Chicago and London: American Library Association, 2000. pp. 159-165.
Brokerhof, Agnes, Bart Ankersmit, and Frank Ligterink. Risk Management for Collections. Rijksdienstvorr het Cultureel Erfgoed, 2017. https://cultureelerfgoed.nl/sites/default/files/publications/risk-management-for-collections_a.pdf
Carmicheal, David W. Implementing the Incident Command System at the Institutional Level. Washington, D. C.: Heritage Preservation, 2010.
Cockerline, Neil and Melinda Markell. “The Handling and Exhibition of Potentially Hazardous Artifacts in Museum Collections.” AASLH Technical Leaflets # 248 Nashville, TN: AASLH, 2011. https://learn.aaslh.org/technical-leaflets
The Foundation of the American Institute for the Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works (FAIC). Field Guide to Emergency Response. Washington, D. C.:FAIC, 2017.
---. Emergency Response and Salvage Wheel. Washington, D. C.: The Foundation of the American Institute for the Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works, 2016.
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Introduction to the Incident Command System, ICS 100. Washington, DC: FEMA, 2018.
https://training.fema.gov/is/courseoverview.aspx?code=IS-100.c
Halstead, Deborah D. Richard P Jasper and Felicia M Little. Disaster Planning: A How-To-Do-It Manual for Librarians and Archivists New York: Neal-Schuman Publishers, Inc., 2005
Hutchins, Jane and Barbara Roberts, eds. First Aid for Art: Essential Salvage Techniques. Lenox, MA: Hard Press Editions, 2006.
Kahn, Miriam. Disaster Response and Planning for Libraries Chicago & London: American Library Association, 3rd Edition, 2012.
Layne, Stevan P. “An Ounce of Prevention – Worth MORE Than a Pound.” AASLH Technical Leaflet # 253, Nashville, TN: AASLH, 2011. https://learn.aaslh.org/technical-leaflets
National Park Service. Conserve O Grams 21/4-21/8: Salvage at a Glance Parts I-V. http://www.nps.gov/history/museum/publications/conserveogram/cons_toc.html
Price, Laura and Abby Smith. Managing Cultural Assets from a Business Perspective. Washington, D. C.: Council on Library and Information Resources. 2000. https://www.clir.org/pubs/abstract//reports/pub90
Podany, Jerry. When Galleries Shake: Earthquake Damage Mitigation for Museum Collections. Los Angeles: J. Paul Getty Trust, 2017.
Rapp, Randy. Disaster Recovery Project Management. West Lafayette, IN: Purdue University Press, 2011.
Todaro, Julie. Emergency Preparedness for Libraries. Lanham MD: Government Institutes, an imprint of Scarecrow Press, Inc., 2009.
United States Geological Survey. Natural Hazards. https://www2.usgs.gov/natural_hazards/
Wellheiser, Johanna G. and Jude Scott An Ounce of Prevention: A Handbook on Disaster Contingency Planning for Archives, Libraries and Record Centres. 2nd edition Lanham, MD & London: The Scarecrow Press Inc and Canadian Archives Foundation, 2002.
The Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) is the state government agency that develops, coordinates, and improves library services throughout the Commonwealth.
The Board strives to provide every Massachusetts resident with full and equal access to library resources regardless of demographics, economic status, or cultural background.
Finding Common Ground was made possible by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, PE-252871-17. Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in these training materials do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.
