Massachusetts Public Library Construction Program
Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners
90 Canal Street, Suite 500
Boston, Massachusetts 02114
617-725-1860
800-952-7403 (in MA)
617-725-0140 (fax)
Need more information or help along the way?
Heather Backman
Library Building Specialist
617-725-1860 x245
heather.backman@mass.gov
Andrea Bono-Bunker
Library Building Consultant
617-725-1860 x246
Library Space: A Planning Resource for Librarians
This planning guide outlines a set of best practices for library planning. A collaboration between Sasaki, an international architecture and planning firm, and the MBLC, it was released in 2020.
Hundreds of images, ranging from teen spaces to acoustic treatments, are available via Pinterest:
Go to https://www.pinterest.com/mblclibraries to browse ideas and share with your designers.
The Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners maintains a professional collection available through the NOBLE network or ComCat. This guide is a list of resources that can help librarians with planning, design, construction, and maintenance of library buildings.
Building Blocks for Planning Functional Library Space by
As in the second edition of Building Blocks for Planning Functional Library Space, this volume outlines the measures of space needed for the use of equipment and furniture within a library setting. It provides drawings of typical library furniture and equipment along with diagrams of the space required for their use. In addition, this volume also contains a brief text that provides an overview of the planning process, as well as details on several aspects of design and planning. With this expanded and revised edition, planners of new, renovated, or existing space will be better able to effectively utilize the space they have and to resist the temptation to overload a given space with too many functions. This third edition significantly expands the number of illustrations found in the previous edition, adding information on newer library technology and amenities. Photographs of furniture and equipment in library settings further enhance the user's understanding of applicable square footage needs. Designed to be consulted after the decision to build has been made, this volume answers the critical question, "How much space do we need?."
Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2012 International Building Code by
An easy-to-use, updated illustrated guide to the 2012 edition of the International Building Code This unique reference to the 2012 International Building Code marries the graphic skills of bestselling author Frank Ching with the code expertise of Steven Winkel, FAIA. It pulls out the portions of the building code that are most relevant for the architect and provides an easy-to-understand interpretation in both words and illustrations. Rather than a text-heavy book, this is much more conducive to quick comprehension of the code, presenting information in an exciting user-friendly visual format.
Building Construction Illustrated by
The classic visual guide to the basics of building construction, now with a 3D digital building model for interactive learning For over three decades, Building Construction Illustrated has offered an outstanding introduction to the principles of building construction. This new edition of the revered classic remains as relevant as ever, providing the latest information in Francis D.K. Ching's signature style. Its rich and comprehensive approach clearly presents all of the basic concepts underlying building construction. New to this edition are digital enhancements delivered as an online companion to the print edition and also embedded in e-book editions. Features include a 3D model showing how building components come together in a final project. llustrated throughout with clear and accurate drawings that present the state of the art in construction processes and materials Updated and revised to include the latest knowledge on sustainability, incorporation of building systems, and use of new materials Contains archetypal drawings that offer clear inspiration for designers and drafters Reflects the 2012 International Building Codes and 2012 LEED system This new edition of Building Construction Illustrated remains as relevant as ever, with the most current knowledge presented in a rich and comprehensive manner that does not disappoint.
Building Science 101 by
Take care of your library and it will take care of you! In this practical, concise volume, authors Lynn M. Piotrowicz and Scott Osgood provide a tour of the library building from foundation to roof. In a time of rapidly inflating energy prices and tight public budgets, many libraries are faced with older physical facilities that are not up to modern standards of efficiency. Designed for libraries where construction of a whole new building is not feasible, this book offers step-by-step instructions for
Checklist of Library Building Design Considerations by
With staff time at a premium, and library budgets that leave little room for overages, undertaking a successful library building or renovation project requires precision planning, effective communication, and focused coordination. Using a checklist approach that will ensure that no detail is overlooked, this new edition of Sannwald's classic guide will help you stay prepared and organized for every phase of your project from conception through the dedication ceremony. This planner covers crucial considerations like the impacts of COVID-19, such as air quality, proper ventilation, CDC recommendations, collaborative spaces, and designing with open space in mind; how the shift to digital affects library building design, completely new to this edition; Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) factors, structured to match the federal code; sustainable design features, including sensors that save energy and water, and other "healthy building" topics; designing makerspaces, digital media labds, or leased library enterprises; disaster and recovery planning; creating quiet spaces; storage requirements for collections and materials-handling efficiency; and important aspects of virtual services to bear in mind during physical space decisions.
Collaborative Library Design by 
Constructing Library Buildings That Work by
When it's time to start planning for a renovation or construction project, you don't need a book that covers everything from A to Z. Instead you need a concentrated set of tools and techniques that will guide you and your team to find the best solutions for your specific project. That's exactly what library building expert Schlipf provides in his new book, which will be a key resource for library directors, administrators, board members, trustees, and planning professionals. Pinpointing the elements that make library buildings functional, in this book readers will find a streamlined organization of the text that enables quick consultation and facilitates collaboration; concise coverage of the essentials of the library construction process, including who does what, how things work, and how to stay out of trouble along the way; advice on important planning and workflow considerations such as site selection, schematic design, funding, design development, the bidding process, construction, and post-construction occupancy; discussion of the characteristics of successful library buildings--buildings that are easy to maintain, welcoming to people with disabilities, have less trouble-prone restrooms, and provide security for users, staff, and collections; and an overview of bad ideas in library architecture, with pointed guidance on how to steer clear of them from the very beginning of your project.
Creating Inclusive Library Environments by
This planning guide will enable libraries to create and maintain a truly inclusive environment for all patrons.
Inclusive Design for Historic Buildings: Architectural Approaches to Accessibility by
Historic-listed buildings continue to be enjoyed in the UK as places of work, education, entertainment, worship, and more. However, in order to retain and enhance their value to society, they must function inclusively and provide easier access for disabled visitors. Inclusive Design for Historic Buildings explores how this challenging ambition can be reconciled with the long-standing objectives of building conservation. Experienced Access Consultant David Bonnett clearly sets out the qualifying elements for inclusivity and explores the architectural methods available, identifying five key typologies. Over twenty-five case studies are examined in-depth, each illustrating a successful solution. Topics covered include: the history of inclusive legislation access auditing working on-site and on-plan consultation with disabled clients creative problem-solving skills social dynamics of the future. Inclusive design is now a fundamental consideration whenever a historic building is being adapted, upgraded, or remodeled. This book will be of great value to students and practitioners alike, as well as all creative professionals working in the built environment. It should inspire those responsible for historic buildings to prepare demanding briefs when considering change.
Interior Graphic Standards by
The first edition Interior Graphic Standards Student Edition will be a comprehensive reference to the art and craft of interior design for students. The planning, designing, detailing, finishing, and decorating of interiors from the programming to the project closeout phases will be included. Emphasis will be placed on commercial interiors.
Library Renovation, Maintenance, and Construction Handbook by
The Library Renovation, Maintenance, and Construction Handbook is a one-stop, easy-to-understand resource that will guide you through the often complicated, jargon-filled arenas of building construction and renovation, so that you can effectively advocate for your ideas about how form supports your library's functions. Authors Donald A. Barclay and Eric D. Scott draw on their extensive experience to provide a wealth of accessible and practical advice for creating functional, attractive, and long-lasting library spaces. They introduce readers to the major stages of construction and renovation, explain details like building codes, reading plans, and building systems, and even provide a handy glossary of key construction terms. This helpful guide outlines all of the vital steps for building or renovating library-specific spaces, including coverage of interior design, signage, safety and security, and what it means to build a green library. You'll find tips for daily and emergency maintenance, as well how to protect and manage a library during a renovation. The companion CD-ROM makes the glossary searchable, gives you digital blueprint symbols to help you learn about reading plans, features digital images illustrating major construction methods discussed in the book, and includes many useful forms and checklists to customize for your library. Unfortunately, they don't teach building renovation, maintenance, and construction in library school. Whether you're building or renovating a public, academic, school, or special library, this accessibly-written new guidebook will equip you with the fundamental knowledge and tools you need.
Planning Our Future Libraries by
In an information environment where the only constant is change, many wonder where libraries are headed. This edited collection brings together library leaders with some of the brightest new minds in the profession to envision the future of libraries. Drawing from their personal experiences, they bring their barrier-breaking perspectives to the task of reinventing the library in all its forms. From redesigning library services for the evolving needs of users, to functioning as a meaningful space in a digital age, implementing new infrastructure, and imagining the international future of school libraries, the contributors ask and answer questions such as: How do lessons from the past point the way forward? What should libraries look like in the future? Which safeguards will protect intellectual freedom, such as equitable access to information and anti-censorship policies, now and in years to come? How can we overcome obstacles such as feasibility, costs, and competing interests to realize the library of the future?
Practical Handbook of Library Architecture by 
Responding to Rapid Change in Libraries: a User Experience Approach by
In the face of rapid change and an ever-widening constellation of challenges, it's crucial for library leaders to pull back to the question of "why?" Plotting a sustainable way forward depends upon recommitting ourselves to our underlying values, such as customer service and community-building, while fostering the improvements that change makes possible. With passion, patience, and fortitude, libraries can stride confidently into the future. In this book, noted speakers and consultants Bignoli and Stara speak directly to library directors, managers, administrators, and technology staff, offering concrete guidance on setting or resetting strategic priorities. Taking an interconnected and specific approach to planning for and strengthening the library environment as a whole, their book discusses why libraries should embrace change as a fundamental part of library life; explores how to harness rapid change to provide more responsive, user-centered library service; addresses the ways in which libraries straddle the physical and the digital, in areas such as service provision and collections, illuminating how they overlap and can be improved using similar philosophies; presents both a comprehensive overview of library technologies as well as related team and change management advice, all grounded in user experience principles; shows how the concepts of sustainability and flexibility apply to physical space planning and design, from furniture selection and arrangement to infrastructure; and provides sound guidance on project management, problem solving, preparing for future challenges, personal reflection and self-care, and other leadership topics.
Survey of Library Cafes and Food Service by
This report looks closely at the food service operations of academic and public libraries and covers cafes, mobile food carts and vending machines. The study presents data from a survey of public and academic library cafes and other food service operation. The report includes valuable and unique data on best-selling products, revenues and sources of revenue, expansion plans, catering revenues, salary costs, seating and décor and other facets of library café and food service operation. Data is broken out for academic and public libraries and also for library size defined by annual library budget and annual number of visitors to the library. The study helps planner answer questions such as: what are personnel costs for the typical café? How much revenue is accounted for by lunch traffic? Do cafes cater outside events and if so, how much do they earn?
Useful, Usable, Desirable by
Useful, usable, desirable, like three legs of a stool, if your library is missing the mark on any one of these it's bound to wobble. Every decision you make affects how people experience your library. In this useful primer, user expereince (UX) librarians Schmidt and Etches identify 19 crucial touchpoints such as the library website, email, furniture, parking lot, events, and newsletters. They explain why each is important to your library's members and offer guidance on how to make improvements. From library administrators to public relations and marketing staff, anyone concerned with how members experience your library will benefit from this book's * Coverage of the eight principles of library UX design, explaining how they can guide you to better serve your library's members * Advice on simple, structured ways to evaluate and improve aspects such as physical space, service points, policies and customer service, signage and wayfinding, online presence, and using the library * Scorecard system for self evaluation, which includes methods for determining how much time, effort, and skill will be involved in getting optimum performance
Visual Dictionary of Architecture by
The classic, bestselling reference on architecture now revised and expanded! An essential one-volume reference of architectural topics using Francis D.K. Ching's signature presentation. It is the only dictionary that provides concise, accurate definitions illustrated with finely detailed, hand-rendered drawings. From Arch to Wood, every concept, technology, material and detail important to architects and designers are presented in Ching's unique style. Combining text and drawing, each term is given a minimum double-page spread on large format trim size, so that the term can be comprehensively explored, graphically showing relations between concepts and sub-terms A comprehensive index permits the reader to locate any important word in the text. This long-awaited revision brings the latest concepts and technology of 21st century architecture, design and construction to this classic reference work It is sure to be by the side of and used by any serious architect or designer, students of architecture, interior designers, and those in construction.
