Resource Guides: Digital Accessibility: Digital Accessibility & Technology

Assistive Technology Glossary Terms

Perkins Assistive Technology Glossary Terms
This list of assistive technology glossary terms focuses on accessibility for people who are visually impaired/blind. Examples of each device are included.

NIH Glossary

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
This glossary provides a general reference for frequently used medical terms that may be helpful.

Hearing loop locator

Hearing Loop Locator
Add your library or space to the map!

Introduction

Digital accessibility means designing and developing a digital world that includes everyone. Websites, mobile apps, consumer products and other digital experiences can be made usable for all people, regardless of age, ability or means of access — but only if accessibility is part of the design and development process (Perkins Access).

Assistive technology refers to devices, software, or systems that help individuals with disabilities perform tasks that might otherwise be difficult or impossible. This can include a wide range of tools, such as:

Mobility aids: Wheelchairs, walkers, and scooters.
Communication devices: Speech-generating devices, text-to-speech software, and hearing aids.
Adaptive computer equipment: Specialized keyboards, mouse alternatives, and screen readers.
Daily living aids: Modified utensils, dressing aids, and alarm systems for the hearing impaired.

The goal of assistive technology is to enhance the quality of life, promote independence, and facilitate participation in various activities, whether at home, in school, or in the workplace.

Audits, Trainings & Assessments

Educational Training by the Massachusetts Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
MCDHH provides a range of free (online or in-person) professional and educational in-services/presentations to other organizations, agencies, and businesses seeking to improve their effectiveness in interacting with people who are deaf or hard of hearing
Collaborative for Collective Services
Center for Assistive Technology (CCATT) is staffed by professionals with extensive classroom experience and proven expertise in assistive technology tools for students with learning disabilities, computer access, alternative and augmentative communication (AAC), and adapted curriculum solutions. Evaluations, professional development and consultations provided. Based in Northampton, MA.

Assistive Technology Support

Library Privacy Guidelines for Assistive Technology
These guidelines provide libraries with information about appropriate data management and security practices with respect to library users' personally identifiable information and data about their use of assistive technology in the library or at home.
Four Principals of Technology Access & Assistive Technology in Libraries
Includes guidance for libraries when evaluating, updating or evolving technology access and assistive/adaptive technology.
Bridging Deaf Cultures
An ALA Interest Group that also has create a list of relevant resources for equipment, interpreter services, software, and more!

World Wide Web Consortium Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)
WAI develops standards and support materials to help you understand and implement accessibility.
Massachusetts Library System Libguide: Adaptive and Accessible Technologies in Libraries
Libguide created by MLS that highlights print, digital and organizational resources for libraries and library patrons.

MA Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing: Modern Guide to Hearing Loss
This updated guide by the MCDHH is intended to assist both populations in addressing issues of health and well being, accessibility, communications, technology and much more. Chapters 4-8 focus on assistive technology.

MCDHH Communication Access, Training and Technology Services
The Communication Access, Training, and Technology Services (CATTS) Department serves as the public's primary resource at MCDHH for information related to deafness and hearing loss. Common inquiries include details on MCDHH services, hearing loss statistics, the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), relevant state and federal communication access laws and their applicability in specific situations.

CATTS also provides Training and Technical Assistance and resource sharing.

Massachusetts Library System

Massachusetts Libraries Ensuring Accessibility and Inclusion for All: Videos

A guide developed by the Massachusetts Library System to highlight best practices to increase access to library facilities. Includes videos, library snapshots and blog posts for a deeper learning experience.

These lists are not meant to be exhaustive but a starting point for commonly used accommodations and technology devices.

NIH: Assistive Devices for People with Hearing, Voice, Speech, or Language Disorders
Overview of assistive technology devices for hearing, voice, speech or language disorders developed by NIH's National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders.
Library of Congress: Assistive Technology Products for Information Access
The products listed in this reference guide developed by the National Library Service for the Blind and Print Disabled are designed to assist people who have disabilities in accessing printed information. They convert digital text or print into synthetic speech, braille, or enlarged text. Most items are available from multiple vendors. Vendor list included.
Perkins A to Z list of technology for low vision
26 of the most common types of assistive technology for low vision that are used for work, home school and also for fun!
Assistive Technology & Transition (Article)
Article by Perkins staff that shares several examples of assistive technology devices that can assist students in school, at home, or in the community.
W3C Accessibility Fundementals Overview
The following resources provide information for getting started with accessibility: accessibility principles, the "people" aspect of accessibility, research, courses and more.
MCDHH: ASL classes
National Deaf Center: Access & Accommodations
Includes a list of accommodation types to support students in an academic environment. Includes additional resources to ensure ACCESS is more than accommodations.

Listing in this document does not constitute or imply endorsement by the MBLC of any particular product, manufacturer, vendor or resource. This information is provided for your reference only.

Library of Congress: Print-disabled vendor source
MCDHH: Interpreter Fee Schedules & Manual, and CART Contract
Provides interpreter service rates, contractor list, and certifications for the state of MA.
MCDHH: Assistive Listening Devices and Systems
Hearing Loop Installers
The following list of loop installers has been gathered from various sources. No endorsements are given to the companies listed, rather, it should be used as a resource of potential suppliers to be evaluated. References should be requested and investigated.